Editor’s Favorite – The Slit that Keeps on Giving

I fell absolutely head over heels with the Balmain Resort 2012 collection, who am I kidding, I’ve fallen in love with every Balmain collection time after time.  However, there was a bit of nervous apprehension in the air as we all waited to see the first collection of Oliver Rousteing, Decarnin’s successor, but he knocked our socks off. Each piece in the collection satisfied our inner laid-back, free-spirited rocker chick but this was one of my favorite pieces in the entire collection… an extremely difficult decision to make.  There is something about an all black ensemble that captures my eye anyway, but this leg bearing piece inspired some of my favorite purchases this season.  The high slit look is something we do not have to wait until spring for and I recommend everyone hit the shops to find one that suits you best.  I’ve found they’re as casual to wear as any maxi skirt but when you decide to dress it up you will definitely turn heads.

I’m experiencing a 2011 Met Ball flashback; Diane Kruger showing up in the gorgeous Jason Wu piece that made such an impression that I still think about the skirt from time to time.  There was something extremely romantic and very Hollywood about that risky rising slit and it’s that enchantment that make high slit skirts my favorite this week.

Shop the look at ShopStyle

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

