The CFDA Turns Half a Century

Lincoln Center was populated with fashion’s elite this past Monday for the 50th Annual CFDA Fashion Awards. The star studded night included some of our favorite faces from big screen, but this night was definitely not about them.  Our eyes were on the designers. The hilarious Seth Meyers opened the big night poking fun at Top Shop, Valentino, Galliano, Marc Jacobs, and Brad Pitt – to name a few. “I hope you like me,” the SNL star began, “fashion people like hating things more than they like liking things, so I win either way.” As soon as he came out during the second half of the show in Marc Jacobs’ Met Gala ensemble it was safe to say that he had won the audience.

The first award given, presented by Pharell Williams, was the Media Award to Scott Schuman (The Sartorialist) and Garance Doré for the groundbreaking work on their blogs.  The couple was extremely humble and shared advice that would warm the hearts of any driven individual looking to find their place in the world.

Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons was absent from the event and enlisted John Waters to accept the International Award, “I wear Rei Kawakubo to be fashionable in secret. We know how great her clothes look, but others think we’re just poor.” After a quick outfit change he came back to accept the award for fashion icon winner Johnny Depp. Depp is the first man to ever win the award, “Johnny Depp was a Pirate Pepé Le Pew way before I met him.”  Later in the night Depp sent an email expressing his gratitude from the film set.

The night continued with Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen winning Womenswear Designer of the Year for The Row, beating both Marc Jacobs and the gents for Proenza Schouler. They were extremely humble…and nervous, a refreshing sight – they are human after all.

Tommy Hilfiger received the night’s only standing ovation as he accepted the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

Menswear Designer of the Year – Billy Reid

Accessory Designer of the Year – Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear – Joseph Altuzarra

Swarovski Award for Menswear – Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design – Tabitha Simmons

Founders Award – Andrew Rosen


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: